Tags

, , ,

1236013_10151691852963004_1833457672_n

Today marks National Siblings Day and, for me, it is merely a reminder of how lucky I truly am to have the two hooligans I call my sisters in my life. There is a special bond that only sisters will understand and even though I can try to explain what that is like, I know that I will never be able to verbalize just how lucky and blessed I feel to have these two crazy girls in my life.

Don’t get me wrong, we’re like every other trio of sisters: we fight, we steal each other’s clothes, we nag one another and we are the furthest thing from being perfect. But what really makes us a special set of sisters is that at the end of the day, all we really want is to be with each other. No matter what. And I think that makes all the difference. No matter how many boys, friends or hobbies come and go in my life, my sisters are my true soul mates. And I don’t understand how anyone else could possibly think otherwise.

Melissa BU3iqtCCUAAPPZk

I never knew what life was like as an only child, and that is a life I am glad I never knew. Melissa has been one of the only people I ever knew who was consistently always in my life. All of my earliest memories have always been centred around Melissa and I growing up and raising a little bit of hell everywhere we went. To this day, Melissa is still one of my most trusted partners-in-crime.

In the most recent years, I have seen Melissa evolve into a headstrong and independent woman, who has inspired all who have met her. Her travels in recent years are ones marked by inspiration, courage and a desire to explore not only the deepest corners of the earth, but also within herself. Every new adventure that she goes on, Melissa inspires me just a little bit more than before.

Melissa would always say that her earliest memory was running down the hallway of our parents’ old apartment, but other than that, she doesn’t recall a memory where she didn’t have a sibling or two running behind her. And the truth is, I’ve been running behind her for twenty-one years. And as I’ve followed after her for the last twenty-one years, I’m not sure if she ever realized that the person I most wanted to be was her.

BVgQI5DCMAIc8XHJenna 

The baby of the family, Jenna is probably one of the few people I would take a bullet for. Her inward beauty is a reflection on the outside and I couldn’t be more proud of the little lady that she has shaped herself out to be. Even though I’m the older sister and I am supposed to be teaching her about life and the world, I find that I am learning more from Jenna everyday not just about life, but about what it means to be a genuinely good person. And for that, I thank you Jenna.

I’ve always been super protective of Jenna and the reason for that is simple: Jenna is my person. She is the one person I can think of who instantly makes me happy and she is one of the few people in my life that I want to have around all the time. From our famous sleepovers to our shared love of Jaws, no one will ever measure up to the love I have for her. My goal everyday will be to protect her and make sure that she is okay.

We always joke and say that we’re going to baby Jenna until she’s a little old lady. And the truth is, I couldn’t think of a better way to live my life than looking after her. No matter how old she gets, I will always think of Jenna as that little blob who has brought more happiness and joy to my life than she will ever know.


To anyone who has sisters, always remember how lucky you are to have such people in your life. There are so many people out there who would give anything to have what you have. No matter how many petty fights you have about stolen clothes or stupid boys, your sisters are there to love you through it all.

Your sisters are your constant companions, built-in best friends and your soul mates. Never take that for granted.

