Tags

, , , ,

e73e1cb8a1015631e74324cb57cc218aIt’s impossible to think of Marilyn Monroe and not associate her with the timeless fashion of the Old Hollywood Era. Her love of classic red lipstick, simple and eclectic patterns and infamous curves have turned Marilyn Monroe into one of the most iconic women in the world.

I was about fourteen years old when I decided that I wanted to model my wardrobe into something that Marilyn Monroe wore. A proud Old Soul, I loved that Marilyn’s wardrobe was womanly rather than something that teeny-boppers would wear. Everything that Marilyn wore was a celebration to the body and curves of a woman, which made me feel empowered and strong whenever I wore an inspired piece of hers. Thankfully, that feeling hasn’t gone away now that I am twenty-one.

c340b5b0b457fd1a1624686ff6104303

I’d like to think that Marilyn and I have very similar tastes in fashion. I can be frequently seen in simple shades of black and white, two shades that Marilyn rocked way back in the day. As well, because of Ms. Monroe, I love prints such as polka dots, gingham and stripes. These kinds of prints embody the looks of Spring and Summer, the seasons when I feel that my closet is at its absolute prime.

While she celebrated her body by dressing like a lady, Marilyn never took herself seriously either. She had fun with wild prints and made sure that they matched the warm and liberating seasons of spring and summer. Marilyn’s go-to prints were flowers, gingham and the ever-loved polka dots.

5c3364eb1fc18828f0fbd24389833086Something that I love about Marilyn is that she can go from one extreme to another. One second she’s looking like a summer flower child, and the next she’s using bold and simple stripes to display her much more demure and sophisticated nature. Never underestimate the power of a black and white striped turtleneck or sheath dress. Simplicity like this is one of the sexiest things in the world.

62e10d250b08655b6cc63ad3db5e030bMarilyn Monroe’s infamous statement, “Diamonds are a girl’s best friend” proves to still be relevant today, as any kind of accessory – diamond or not – will really make or break your outfit. If you can find pieces that marry pearls and diamonds, you are on the right track to vintage fashion.

Cat eye sunglasses are a trend that Monroe began at the peak of her career and have been a fad that hasn’t gone away. They come in a plethora of styles and colours and you can find them at a reasonable price at any local mall or thrift shop near you.

To complete the full Marilyn Monroe look, spray a dash of Chanel No.5, touch up your lipstick and you are ready to bring the fashion of the past into the future of tomorrow.

e0f0c1f864cdccd1f4da669aaf88c827

“I’m very definitely a woman, and I enjoy it” ~ Marilyn Monroe

 

