Tags

, ,

885289d910527b71d9676a7e59f33994

I don’t think I’ve ever had a moment where I didn’t wish I was Judy Garland. Okay, that’s a lie, but there are a plethora of qualities that I wish I could take from Judy. Her timeless beauty, abundance of talent and her wardrobe are all things that I want.

Arguably the first girl-next-door archetype, Judy Garland continues to inspire the world of fashion with her soft features and her charming and eclectic choices of wardrobe.

3f4936db2c09241f3a5e5fc799c0aa0cI challenge you to find someone who doesn’t think about Judy’s famous portrayal as the delicate Dorothy Gale in The Wizard of Oz when her name is mentionedHer soft smile and delicate features captured the hearts of millions who cherished the innocence of this timeless movie and character. Once the thrill of the majestic visuals wore off on audiences, they were able to look at Judy’s fashion and became enchanted with her style and image.

By this point, it shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone that I have a passionate love of anything with a gingham print. I think that this love can be traced back to Judy’s portrayal in The Wizard of Oz. From the time I was a little girl, it has been my dream to own the baby blue and white gingham dress that Dorothy wore as she ventured into the depths of Oz. To me, this dress embodies a wholesome and girly look that I often crave, especially in the summer time. When I look at this dress, I associate it with summer because of the lightness and the whimsical embodiment of summer.

Although I love the length of my hair and the fact that it is naturally straight, when I see Judy’s voluminous and bouncy curls that cascade down past her shoulders, I am green with envy. Her thick hair and the overall fullness of her curls have been replicated for a number of years and I am happy to admit that I have also tried copying this look. However, my hair doesn’t hold those curls for long periods of time. This definitely breaks my heart, but I like to dream that this look will work for me one day!

f5007c02681ae39d26328b0c4a4aa4ceThere have been a few instances in my life where I have been told that I resemble Judy Garland in terms of looks. Even though I personally do not see the resemblances, I take this as a huge compliment. I have always thought of Judy to be one of the most timeless looking women of her generation and to even be compared to her in any way, shape or form is probably one of the best things that I can be told.

463f171b9b75fd4a85edc7bf302a35ce“I can live without money, but I cannot live without love.” ~Judy Garland  

