Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Autumn has always been a time of contemplation for me. I don’t know if it’s the change in seasons or the leaves starting to fall or the fact that I am in my last year of my undergrad, but it is always around this time of the year that I find myself thinking about the future.

Right now, I am sitting in my kitchen with a cup of hot coffee, watching my dog play in the backyard. Of course, this seems to be a clichéd set-up, but sometimes, these setups conjure up the most truths. And the truth is, I am making plans for my future.

I am a self-proclaimed dreamer. That means that some of the things I want to happen are pretty far-fetched. But aren’t most dreams? Everyone had a wild crazy dream and then they did something about it and that dream became their reality.

So I encourage you to sit down, pour yourself a cup of coffee and make a list of your “Autumn Somedays.” I think you will be surprised to see how many dreams you have stored away in your heart. They don’t even have to be serious or long-term – you’ll find from my list that I have a few goofy ones and some that are relatively short-term.

Just write and plan for your somedays.


 

Someday, I will…

  1. Be the next Anna Wintour. Or Natalie Portman. Or F. Scott Fitzgerald. I haven’t quite decided yet.
  2. Write and publish a best-selling novel that will be added the the New York Times “books to read before you die” type of list.
  3. Be the poet that lulls people to sleep while also preparing them for war.
  4. Graduate from Laurier.
  5. Raise a little hell once I finally move to New York City.
  6. Get my masters at Columbia School of journalism, when I take a break from my hell-raising. Obviously.
  7. Sit front row during Fashion Week. Doesn’t matter to me if it is in New York, Milan, London or Paris.
  8. Re-explore my old dreams of being an actress. Who knows? Maybe something will come of it (still haven’t let go of my Academy Awards dream either!).
  9. Give modelling a try (even if I completely suck).
  10. Adopt a couple of dogs and cats from an animal shelter.
  11. Travel to Kigali and work with the Gorillas, as part of the Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund Foundation project.
  12. Become more involved as an animal activist.
  13. Travel as far as my mind can go. And then travel some more.
  14. Be a better sister, daughter and friend.
  15. Go on a crazy road trip with my three best friends.
  16. Go camping.
  17. Go on a vacation with my sisters.
  18. Have a health-driven lifestyle. Workout for the purpose of being happy and healthy, not to turn myself into something I’m not.
  19. Run a marathon.
  20. Forget about the one who forgot about me. And don’t run back to them when they want to remember how much I miss them when they leave.
  21. Meet Leonardo DiCaprio. I don’t know if I’d prefer to meet him professionally or in holy matrimony.
  22. Meet Harry Styles. Again, I don’t know if I’d like to work with him, be best friends with him or marry him.
  23. Conquer some of my greatest fears. Sorry, this is a cliché, but when I think of conquering my fears, I picture myself swimming with sharks or eating tomatoes.
  24. Find recipes that I want to try.
  25. Actually cook and bake the recipes that I want to try.
  26. Learn how to sew and make my own dresses.
  27. Get a small tattoo with special meaning. Maybe. It might end up being a henna tattoo.
  28. Become fluent in French and Hebrew.
  29. Complete my #100DaysofFashion challenge on both my instagram and my blog.
  30. Learn that it is okay to not be the best at everything. I know, easier said than done,  but finding the patience to practice that is important.
  31. Have that great love I won’t be able to summarize with words of mediocrity or have tainted by inevitable heartbreak.
  32. See myself in little faces I created with this faceless great love. Preferably after we’ve had our lavish wedding of the century, of course.
  33. Throw a themed party. Or host a wine tasting. Or afternoon tea. Whichever one I feel like.
  34. Own the house of my dreams and decorate it the way I always wanted to. Or the way pinterest makes it look.
  35. Be able to drive far enough from the city that I can see myself in the stars.
  36. Practice random kindness.
  37. Be kind to others.
  38. Be kind to myself.
  39. Do the things that I have always wanted to do.
  40. Live. That’s the best thing you can do. Just live, and let live.
