Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

f9bbc9bcfe7c0461f6b8878c59a0b15cOne of my earliest memories is sitting alone in my childhood bedroom writing what I consider to be my first story. Mind you, it was mostly a pictograph, but I told the story well in my head. I was about four years old at the time. Since then, my passion for being a writer has never ceased.

I have always dreamt of being a best-selling novelist and I do not plan on leaving this earth until that dream has been realized. I am currently working on a story (four years in the making!!), as well as a compilation of short stories. I do plan on getting set up with a literary agent so that I can finally make my dreams a reality.

The purpose of this post isn’t to brag about talent or what I am working on. The purpose of this post is to share why I am still so inspired about being a writer. Recently, I have had the pleasure of being mentored by two Canadian authors: Joseph Kertes and Tamas Dobozy.

Kertes, who recently published a novel called The Afterlife of Stars, works with my mother and has been a confidante for quite some time now. Dobozy, the acclaimed author of Siege 13, was my professor at Wilfrid Laurier University and instructed a creative writing seminar.

Not only did I appreciate the time they gave me to look at my writing, but I also am grateful for their constructive criticisms and advice. The fact that they took an interest in me and were willing to help me further my writing career has inspired me a great deal. I don’t want to just sit down and write and then wait for things to happen anymore. I want to sit down, write and send it out.

I am an optimist who carries an umbrella, however. I know that it won’t be an easy task. I know that there will be bouts of writer’s block, rejections, and people who will not be supportive or understand my passion. These hurdles only make me want it more. I am ready for everything that will be thrown my way. That will only make me work harder.

To my fellow writers, poets and dreamers – don’t stop. One day, this will all fall into place. Never lose sight of that dream your lifelong dream, so that one day you can tell your four-year-old self, “We did it.”

