Mynt Marsellus

Dear friends, I know that many of you respect my opinions on film and issues of social justice. I want to make clear that I saw this movie for the first time tonight and these are my immediate thoughts based on my reading of the film. I am more than willing to entertain arguments to the contrary but would ask that you keep discussion civil because of the specific nature of the topics at hand. In this post I’m going to be talking about issues concerning BDSM, rape culture, consent, romance, and representations in the following post and some of it might be triggering to you. Don’t read on if you don’t want to.

I have not read the 50 Shades trilogy. I am coming to this movie as fresh to the material as one can be given the promotions and campaigns. Thusly, in this post I am only discussing…

View original post 1,219 more words

