Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There are some songs attached to memories that will heal you, and then there are some song that bruise you. And then there are some song that do both.

I am personally not a super fan of Miley Cyrus, but I do like some of her music. And her song “Wrecking Ball” has somewhat of a special place in my heart.

This song came out last year when I was in my third year of university. It also coincided with my first real heartbreak. I can say with full honesty that I cried for three months straight, as I have never experienced loss and heartbreak quite like that.

As it was my first real loss of love, I didn’t know how to cope. I didn’t feel like I could talk to anyone about it, because I feared judgment and I was scared about coming to terms with the fact that this love was over. So, instead, I turned to music. And the only song that seemed to understand the scale of sadness and heartbreak I was feeling was Cyrus’ “Wrecking Ball.”

For three straight months, I listened to this song, without shame or rhyme or reason. At the time, I felt like this song was written about the circumstances I had been in. It had been a way for me to heal when I felt like my heart had been slowly bleeding out.

I’m still a little tender when I think about that failed love, even though it has been over a year. I am getting better though. However on those rough days, and even lonelier nights, I listen to this song. And then I feel like I can breathe again.

If you haven’t heard this song in a while, click the picture below.

tumblr_mt2rgqYC9b1shtetko1_r1_500“I never meant to start a war; I just wanted you to let me in”

