Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_2317

I don’t know what’s been up with me lately, but I’ve been baking a lot lately. I’m not usually one for baking, but it’s actually been such a nice thing to do when I have a break from working.

And this time, I took a break from baking brownies and decided to make cornbread, a Southern classic. I had been craving it all summer and finally decided to do something about it and make it myself.

I have shared my recipe down below. If you guys end up making it, definitely tag me so I can see how yours turned out!!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups of cornmeal
    IMG_2313
  • 2 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon sal
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil

Directions:

  1. IMG_2314Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). In a small bowl, combine cornmeal and milk; let stand for 5 minutes. Grease a 9×13 inch baking pan.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Mix in the cornmeal mixture, eggs and oil until smooth. Pour batter into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 30 to 35 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the center of the cornbread comes out clean.IMG_2316
